It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subject. What are causes? And what will be effects on society?

Several countries, in recent years, have witnessed a significant decrease in the number of students applying for science-related subjects. This is partly because it takes tremendous effort and time to become competent in these areas. I suppose that this tendency if it continues to happen, will hamper the process of technological advancement and bring several drawbacks to humans' living standards. It can be seen that there are two key explanations for the general lack of interest in the STEM field - including science, technology, engineering, and math. It is worth noting that research on such subjects is notoriously challenging and calls for a great deal of effort, devotion, and creativity. The extensive amount of self-study needed by biological majors, for example, deters numerous pupils from enthusiastically acquiring professional knowledge. Moreover, there is a significant inaquadacy of employment in the sector of this discipline, and the job market is becoming more competitive. Consequently, devoting an enormous amount of time and effort to scientific education does not guarantee a decent job for them after graduation. It is undeniable that the trend of fewer scientists working on projects will probably make it more challenging to enhance individuals' quality of life. The scientific community continuously strives to better the world for the benefit of future generations by concentrating on a wide range of science-related campaigns and projects. As a result, they have come up with numerous inventions and innovations such as the internet and automobiles to cater to humans' imperative needs. Ultimately, there would be fewer life-changing breakthroughs and fewer state-of-the-art technological gadgets generated if the number of students specializing in technique decreases. In conclusion, the dedication required to master the science field as well as the fierce labour market is presumably two major reasons for the dearth of science students in today's society. This propensity, if unregulated, might slow the overall technological progress and our living standards.