In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Food is an essential part of human growth. Nowadays, due to supermarkets, it becomes easy to purchase groceries produced in different nations and I personally believe that because of overpricing and preservatives being used, they have a negative impact on society. To begin with, overpricing is the most compelling aspect to be considered. In other words, in order to import groceries from other countries, tax, import duties are to be paid and which later increase the price of an item as compared to local items. In addition, buying imported items shells out money from citizens, as they have to pay more than a regular amount for a particular item. For example, in Canada, because of less farming, most the food comes from other counties, especially United States and it uplifts the food prices after import duties and taxes, Furthermore, the preservation of various food items for a long time can also be another point to advocate. Moreover, foodstuff coming from other nations takes time to be delivered and to preserve it, plenty of preservatives are used which can be harmful to human beings. Not only is this harmful to human life but also can be harmful to the environment via carbon emissions from cargo. For instance, according to research by Penlea Health Incorporation, individuals using preserved food are more likely to catch illness than people using fresh produce. In a nutshell, human lives are being affected by using chemically preserved imported foods and to buy food imported food, consumers have to pay more from their pockets.