Some people believe that giving longer prison sentences is the best way to reduce crime. Others believe that there are better ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is believed by some individuals that establishing longer jail sentences is an effective mechanism to reduce the crime rate since it creates an incentive for other offenders to not commit a crime. Others are convinced that there are alternative methods to tackle atrocity, for example, increasing law enforcement agencies on the streets and ensuring the community with jobs. In my opinion, longer prison sentences negatively affect the struggle with lawlessness because people lose their ability to exist inside society and consequently become recidivists by committing crimes again. On the one hand, the first method can ensure that the potential criminals will have the feeling of fear by thinking about the enormous number of years that they can spend behind the walls of a prison. Therefore, they are most likely to avoid committing a crime and are better off continuing their life in freedom. It is an extremely effective way since people always respond to incentives, whether it is a discount in a shop or a rise in accommodation prices. This is just how the human brain works, the negative consequences of an illegal action outweigh the benefits, making the offence absolutely unattractive, thus future offenders will think twice before doing something illegal. On the other hand, providing community with jobs and increasing law enforcement agencies such as police on the streets might seem an effective method as well. The origins of an offence take its roots from unemployment issues along with the absence of punitive forces. For example, in Salvador, there are troops and patrols almost every second mile, and nowadays Salvador has become one of the safest countries in the world. This approach establishes the direct sense of fear for delinquents, because they are afraid that they can be caught immediately. Moreover, an increased presence of squad officers secures working individuals, who before the reform were usually robbed by offenders, therefore more individuals choose to work than rob. In my opinion, it is better to stick to the second approach, because long sentences deprive criminals of the ability to cooperate within society, and consequently increase a chance of recidivism. Delinquents in confinement do not know about changes that happen in society, and also get accustomed to a jail life year by year, and longer terms will negatively contribute to this situation. In conclusion, despite the fact that long-lasting jail terms create an incentive for delinquents to not commit an offence, it increases the chances of recidivism. Thus, in my opinion, it is better to provide people with jobs and incorporate more law enforcement and patrols into the living areas.