Some people think that it is necessary to travel abroad to learn about other countries, but other people think that it is necessary to travel abroad because all the information can be seen on TV and the Internet. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have a multitude of views about the ways of learning about foreign countries and their cultures. While some people may think that it is unnecessary to travel abroad as we are able to know a lot of information about other countries through different media, I still believe that visiting other countries is the best way to learn about their cultures. Without any doubt, with the advancement of technology, we can access a large amount of information about foreign countries through different ways such as watching television programs and surfing the Internet. For example, there are several documentary programs on the National Geographic Channel, which introduce the life of other people who are living in other countries. Through watching these kinds of programmes, it is true that we could already have a brief understanding of other countries even though we do not visit those countries, which, in turn, can save people's money and time for travelling. However, I think that travelling aboard is still a better way for people to learn about other countries due to several reasons. The most significant reason is that the information from the Internet and television may not be absolutely true. Although we could learn a lot of knowledge about other countries on television or websites, we could never ensure that all the information is correct. Take television programmes as an example, people tend to talk about some things that are attractive in the programs in order to gain viewers' attention, and hence, some of the facts or cultures of other countries may not be fully covered in the program. Therefore, it is necessary for people to visit the places physically and experience and learn about other cultures in person. Besides, travelling to other countries allow people to have two-way communication with foreigners while watching television program or surfing information on the Internet is a one-way communication. Talking to others people can enhance our understanding of their life and cultures. In conclusion, although we can have a brief understanding of other countries by watching television or reading information on the Internet, I still believe that it is necessary to travel abroad in order to have a deep and full understanding of other cultures.