Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals.

In recent years, a crucial debate related to the presence of zoos in urban areas has sparked among communities. Whilst some believe that these artificial environments are cruel and not ethical, others contain that they are fundamental to protecting endangered species. This essay will examine each view by considering the obvious benefits and some downsides of this practice. It is irrefutable that zoos have several benefits, some of which will be discussed below. To begin with, more animals’ life are jeopardised as a consequence of the direct impact of climate change, such as reduced ice cap, desertification which affects the availability of bodies of water, bushfire or drought. Therefore, the existence of a rehabilitation center for those who need protection is pivotal to determine the survival of these species. Moreover, some of these places support threatened animal over injury recovery, so that, once healed and released from captivity, they will be able to survive in the wild environment. Another reason in favour of this argument is that zoos are an influent attraction for many turists, guaranteeing major earnings to cities, let alone secure employment. In fact, biologist and other scientists could develop their research and enlarge their knowledge without relocating as well as supporting their community. However, there are some considerable drawbacks as well. The main downside pertain to ethic; is it fair to constrain an animal in a limited livable area when its ideal environment is wild nature? Undoubtedly, after the immediate excitement of seeing an exotic being, it feels wrong and the purpose of a zoo becomes questionable. Not only afar animals are exposed in zoos for the mere aim of profit, but are also used to entertain visitors with some skills that they have been forced to learn. Furthermore, the obtainment of these animals is unclear. Although some places have a transparent policy in which is shown if they are bred inhouse or are exchanged with others zoos, it is ambiguous how other places purchase them, especially elephants as well as tigers that are commonly hunted and illegally traded. To conclude, in spite of these issues, like exposing animals for pleasure and how they are obtained, if a zoo fulfils its requirement and is ethically correct, as far as I am concerned, the benefits of saving species in danger of extinction and helping them during their rehabilitation path outweigh any downsides.