Some people think history has nothing or little to tell us, but others think that studying past history can help us better understand the present. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

So far, history has played an important role in making our society more civilized and advanced. It is debatable whether learning history is beneficial or futile. From my perspective, while the latter leads to several disadvantages, society would benefit tremendously thanks to the former. The following paragraphs would shed light on my viewpoint. Perhaps for many, learning history is unnecessary. First, the knowledge of history is no longer suitable for the modern public. In particular, the gap between history and modern life is too large, so individuals have difficulty applying the lessons of history to life. Second, for pupils, history is only treated as a secondary subject. This could be seen easily in learning natural science which has advantages in developing the career of students instead of spending much time to understand and remember historical facts. In reality, at high schools in VietNam, a significant number of pupils indicates that studying history is inapplicable to the variety of vacations. Despite the valid arguments detailed above, I believe that history is an essential course because of two primary reasons. The most pertinent point is that history is of paramount importance in the culture and tradition of each nation. Specifically, this endows pupils with an overview of the past and understand clearly about the current situation. In fact, the One Pillar pagoda, one of the well-known historical sites in Viet Nam,is not only a beautiful piece but also a symbol of the unique culture of Vietnamese citizens. Another justification is that learning history ameliorates a significant number of essential skills in daily life. To be specific, when studying history, undergraduates have to do research and present complicated problems and past mistakes, which helps them avert adversity and enhance their presentation skills. In conclusion, it is disputable that learning history is no longer appropriate for a significant number of professions and the development of society. Nonetheless, I still strongly agree with the first standpoint thanks to its conductive impacts on the insights and skills of undergraduates.