There are more new towns being built nowadays. It is more important to include public parks and sports facilities than shopping centers for individuals to spend their free time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is quite common those days that more up-to-date towns are built in some countries. A debate over what kinds of construction should be included in these towns. While some argue that it is better to build public infrastructures like parks or sports facilities rather than shopping malls. I disagree with this statement. I personally agree with public facilities are essential for individuals to spend their leisure time. On one side, it is public construction that brings a significant benefit to places where people live. That is, it enables the inhabitants to promote their physical health. For example, office workers spend too much time sitting at desks every day and using electric devices overly. This can intrigue different health problems, such as obesity, and heart disease. As a consequence, by providing public parks and sports facilities in new towns, individuals could have access to someplace where they can engage in physical activities and maintain a healthy life as well. However, the social function of public facilities cannot be ignored. Both parks and sports facilities have proven to be possible to improve social interaction among local communities. For instance, when people spend their leisure time on the new-built public buildings, it is easier for local people to build relationships with others. This process contributes to enhancing their sense of local community and belonging. Therefore, it is crucial for mental well-being. If citizens waste their time in shopping centres, it can be enjoyable to some extent but not necessary for improving their physical and mental status. In conclusion, building public parks and sports facilities is more necessary than shopping centres. It not only benefits individuals’ physical health but also increases social relationships with locals, as well as a sense of community and belonging.