Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether or not children should be allowed to make decisions for themselves. While I agree that permissive parenting can create self-centred children, I also believe that there are some potential benefits to giving children more independence when it comes to choice making. On the one hand, it is easy to imagine that too much freedom of choice in childhood could lead to people becoming selfish as adults. Children who are allowed to eat, wear or do whatever they want tend to be unaccustomed to making compromises or taking the wishes of others into account. They may carry this self-centred attitude into adulthood, and the prevailing culture of a whole society could become more individualistic and mean-spirited. For example, I have a friend whose parents were extremely lenient and let him make decisions about everything from what food he ate to what time he went to bed. Now, as an adult, he struggles to cooperate with others in both social and work settings. On the other hand, parents can help their children to become independent but considerate adults by allowing them to make certain decisions. Many parents involve their children in decision-making as a way to prepare them for adult life, when they will need to live alone and fend for themselves. For example, parents may take their children food shopping and encourage them to choose ingredients for a meal that they will help to cook for the family. This kind of freedom can also teach children to consider others, such as siblings and friends, instead of thinking about their own selfish interests. For instance, children who are included in discussions about what activities to do at the weekend can learn to express their views but also listen to the opinions of others. In conclusion, the parenting style that empowers children to make their own choices may make some children selfish, but it may help others to become more self-reliant as they grow up.