Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friends form an integral part of an individual's life. In addition to the instructions and teachings from parents, pieces of advice from friends also help an individual to reach greater heights. Therefore, it is important to consider whether maintaining companions for a long time or the ability to make new companions brings out greater happiness. From this perspective, I disagree with the statement and believe that the ability to make new friends opens up a window full of opportunities and contentment in one's life. I strongly feel this way for two reasons, which I shall delve into in the following essay. To begin with, the ability to make instant friends with new people will enhance us to adapt to new situations and circumstances readily. My life is a profound example of this. After completing high school, I joined a college in a different country, which meant dealing with new people and cultures. Even though it was hard in the beginning to get acclimated, eventually, I pulled it off and was in the presence of some fascinating new friends. In doing so, I was able to overcome any adversities that came my way with ease as my new companions were always there for me to calm my frantic mind. Furthermore, although I missed my old friends, with this ability I was happy and content. Thus, this reason manifests the importance of making new friends. Moreover, in addition to adaptability, I also learned about many new languages and traditions, which gave me an upper hand against my fellow colleagues. From the example above, during my final year of college, I was able to communicate more fluently without any hindrances to people in their language. This boosted my confidence level and enhanced my sense of accomplishment within me. Therefore, this point illustrates the fact that making new friends is vital. Admittedly, maintaining long-time friends brings some form of happiness, when stuck in a puddle of problems, these loyal friends are always there to serve as a helping hand. Just as the saying goes, ' A friend in need is a friend indeed.' To sum up, based on my expositions mentioned above, I strongly believe that happiness can be profoundly achieved even in the midst of new friends. In doing so, we acquire abilities to adapt and synchronize in any situation which also enables us to acquire a sea of knowledge from different people.