Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

One of the social concerns today relates to traffic safety. While it is commonly thought that heavy punishments for breaking driving rules are the main factor in decreasing road accidents, others believe that there are better ways to do it. I am going to discuss these opposing points of view. In my opinion, more measures rather than heavy fines should be taken. On the one hand, it is argued that enforcing harsh punishments is the best way to reduce road accidents. The main reason is that if drivers know that they will have severe consequences for breaking the law, they will be more likely to drive more consciously and follow the rules. For instance, last week my brother was fined 10,000,000 VND for speeding and he told me he would never commit again. On the other hand, it is strongly believed by others that there are many other helpful measures that can be taken to improve the situation. Firstly, upgrading road infrastructure such as adding more traffic lights, speed bumps and pedestrian crossings can help to minimize crashes. Secondly, launching education programs to raise awareness on driving safety. In fact, this can be done at school or companies to promote a habit among young people. For example, as reported by Vietnam Express, after a 3-year traffic safety educational program was implemented in all districts in Ho Chi Minh City, the death rate caused by road accidents among the youth decreased by 30% in 2022. In conclusion, while it is commonly thought that giving strict punishments for driving offences is the key factor in lowering traffic accidents, others assume that more measures can be more effective in bettering road safety. Personally, I tend to believe that improving road infrastructure, raising awareness and promoting safe driving habits can be a solid foundation for a free-from-danger living environment for everyone.