Rising university fees and scares employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximise chances of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought by a selection of individuals that universities should only teach practical subjects that can increase the opportunity for employment and those subjects such as art, philosophy and history are need to be dropped due to an increase in fees scares employment prospects for graduates. From my point of view, I agree with this notion and my supporting reasons will be outlined in the following paragraphs before reaching a conclusion. At the outset, it is undeniable that practical courses should be taught in universities and one of the most significant reasons is the essential knowledge that students gain from these practical courses. To elaborate further, there are many jobs in the job market that require these skills as it is useful and important to our lives. Moreover, this knowledge can further students' study in the future, making them get more chances of recruitment. An apt illustration of this is one of my friends working as a software engineer and still gets a lot of offers from a number of companies because technology these days needs to develop in order to improve our quality of life. Hence, he told me that he would apply for a Master's degree so that he would get more chances to work in other countries. Additionally, another clear upside for my reason is that a large amount of money needs to be spent on improving the quality of the practical ones. To explain in greater detail, courses such as engineering and science need laboratories in order to do tests and research. Furthermore, these courses have to hire assistants and install security systems to protect their items and materials. To specifically demonstrate, when I was in my last year at university, my civil engineering department bought a new machine to test the strength of concrete and therefore they filed an advancement to inform us that they needed to increase fees because of this machine and hired more staff. All in all, it is a fact that art subjects, philosophy and history need to be closed and the money that is rising should be used mainly on practical subjects to maximise opportunities of employment for graduates. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this idea as it can enhance and sharpen the quality of these subjects. Besides, knowledge from practical subjects is a paramount factor for being employed.