Some people spend most of their lives close to where they were born. What might be the reason for this? What are the advantages and disadvantages?

People tend to have their residence in close proximity to the place where they were born. In the following paragraphs, I will briefly discuss the possible reason for this phenomenon and propose both merits and drawbacks of the issue. The main factor of this situation is most people prefer to stay consistent instead of changing due to being afraid of frustrations. Alteration can lead to success but is also possible to cause failure, which makes people avoid trying any different. This is why someone still wants to live in their hometown even when they grow up. Living in the native land can bring some advantages, such as a low cost of living and the convenience to take care of elderly family members. The cost of raising a family has increased over time due to inflation and other economic factors. For instance, the cost of housing has sharply increased over the past few decades, thus living with parents become a choice to reduce expenses. In addition, in most families, both parents work full- time to provide financial security and a higher standard of living, which leads them to spend less time with their family members, particularly the elders. However, there are some cons, such as a loss of better employment possibilities. Different areas have their own superior industries. For instance, Taipei includes finance, startup and healthcare, but technology companies are relatively fewer, which makes those who want to engage in technology need to choose other cities to work. Therefore, if people always prefer to stay in their comfort zones, they probably lose some job opportunities that perfectly fit them. In conclusion, some people prefer to spend most of their living time in their hometown because remaining stable is more comfortable, and it also brings some advantages, such as a lower cost of living and more time to spend with their family, while they may cost in their employment opportunities at the same time.