The internet has greatly increased our access to information. To what extent do you think this is a good thing? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

New technologies have a significant impact on our daily lives. If twenty years ago humanity had relied mostly on TV, newspapers and books as dominant sources of information, during last decades the situation has changed because of ability of individuals to use the web sources for finding new knowledge. There are many positive aspects of using the internet for gathering information. Nowadays by using foreign news websites and platforms people all around the world can read different points of view on current events and compare them using their critical thinking. It has an important impact on fighting with a dominance of propaganda in countries like Russia and Belarus. This is the main reason why government is trying to forbid many websites here. Moreover, internet users from “global south” who live in poor conditions could absorb information from top universities by listening to lectures on YouTube and reading free electronic books. This knowledge could help them to fight poverty and build their own way to financial success in the rich world. However, there are a few flaws in information availability all around the world. First of all, the organised criminal gangs use free information flow to promote lucrative businesses. It is well-known, that in “darknet” huge cartels appear on the yearly basis, trying to find a new niche for their illegal activities (mostly by selling drugs and guns). Secondly, new forms of fraud appear because of global information expansion. Nowadays criminals are not interested in physical assets. All they need is to get passwords and pin-codes of a particular person. This situation puts in serious danger children and old people who are not experienced users and could fall into the trap of fraudulent actions. Therefore, internet has massive potential for creating information diversity in the society and improving a life quality by giving to people an ability to get useful information. However, thoughtful and accurate government regulation of this sphere is needed in order to prevent any further harm to humanity.