It is important for children to learn what is right and what is wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn the distinction. To what extent do you agree? What sort of punishment should be given?

Punishment is one of the famous forms of discipline. Some believe that learning to distinguish right from wrong is important for children, so the punishment should be used. However, I completely disagree with this idea, and will argue against this belief, as well as provide some alternatives for teaching a child in this essay. Punishment can show young people consequences of their negative actions, but it is ineffective for two main reasons. Firstly, it can cause mental health problems for children because they absorb unpleasant moments and are likely to blame themselves even though they do not fully understand what they did wrong. This could eventually result in low self-esteem and depression when they grow up. Furthermore, the punishment could be a form of domestic violence, if it is harsh and overreacted. Kids may imitate what they are familiar with, making them aggressive and leading to physical abuse. Behavioural research in Thailand has shown that people who are raised with violence have a high potential to commit a crime and create violence in society. These reasons make a punishment unnecessary. Instead of punishment, there are more successful parenting approaches to discipline children. One approach is to be patient and use simple and firm language although it is easy to get frustrated when kids are not listening. By speaking attentively and using non-verbal communication, such as eye contact and gestures, kids will eventually learn to listen and respond. Another alternative is to let children understand the consequences of their actions by keeping the resulting events related and reasonable. For instance, when a child throws their toys away, adults can show them that toys are broken and, therefore, cannot be used anymore. Indeed, children will realise what they did wrong and not repeat to do so again. In conclusion, punishment can be harmful to children's mental health as well as their future way of life. Therefore, I definitely feel that there are more effective alternatives to discipline children, such as patient communication and letting them understand the consequences of their actions.