In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone (cellphone) apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages?

The rise of financial technology enables people in many countries to use mobile wallets and banking apps in their daily life. I believe this trend brings tangible benefits to both businesses and individuals. First, mobile apps foster financial inclusion for everyone, especially the unbanked population in developing countries by providing a secure, cheaper and faster way of storing and transferring money. People can store money, pay bills, and peer-to-peer transfers (P2P) conveniently at the tip of their fingers even if they don’t have any bank account, credit, or debit cards. Also, carrying around a large amount of cash can cause accidental loss and invite unwanted theft. Finally, individuals can save money by using mobile wallets as businesses offer discounts, promotions and instalments to attract more transactions on their platforms. Second, the development of mobile payment apps promotes a sustainable economy by enhancing financial exchanges worldwide. Nowadays the majority of buying and selling activities take place on e-commerce platforms. Without mobile payment services, there aren’t likely online business transactions. To illustrate, most people in China use WeChat pay rather than physical cash for both online and offline purchases. Moreover, businesses benefit from efficient and cheaper cross-border transfer services of mobile apps as an alternative to traditional banking systems. For example, previously if we wanted to make the telegraphic transfer, we needed to go down to the nearest branch to fill up the paperwork. In contrast, we can just log in to our mobile apps and make transfers instantly. In conclusion, the use of mobile phone apps for payments brings numerous advantages to people in many countries.