It will be better to have wide use of driverless cars for individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Some people argue that using driverless cars should be promoted now as it can make a contribution to people and our community. I do appreciate this statement, but in my opinion, some possible problems, resulting from its widespread, should not be trivialised. On the one hand, there are various benefits that come with the use of driverless cars. First of all, they could improve driving safety, as we all know that a large proportion of traffic accidents are actually caused by human error, such as difficulty concentrating due to fatigue, etc. Secondly, using driverless cars could aid people, especially the handicapped and elderly people, by offering them access to go out freely. Furthermore, with driverless cars, people can spend time doing other things, like entertainment, during their commute or travelling as they are free from having to hold the steering wheel. On the other hand, driverless cars are still considered by the populace as something high-tech. Therefore, it should not be expected that people will change their minds and accept this new design overnight, just as Rome could not be built in a day. In addition, with the development and predictable wide spread of driverless cars, the related new traffic rules may also need to be discussed and modified. Another ensuing social issue may be the unemployment of drivers, which should also be taken into account. In conclusion, I do support the use of driverless cars for their many merits. However, we should not ignore the potential problems underneath it.