in the future,it is expected that there will be a higher proportion of older people in some countries. Is this positive or negative development?

With the policies and social preferences, it is projected that the world will be mostly comprised of senior residents. While some believe it is a crisis, others find this a beneficial trend. I personally consider the negative effects outweigh the positive ones. On one hand, elderly people are the reservoir of experience and knowledge, these can be conveyed to the next generation which can ease the path for them. additionally, old people are usually more financially comfortable and therefore more willing to contribute free labour to ameliorate their communities. This also instils a sense of responsibility in offspring. his is, in fact, globally recognized to be advantageous in a world where selfishness hinders one from taking action for the sake of others. On the other hand, aging people put pressure on the whole world. both governments and businesses are obliged to pay retirement pensions and health care costs. Moreover, the lack of young workforces would cause stagnation in the growth of businesses and the economy which is detrimental for both mentioned. As a matter of fact, many first- world countries whose proportion of senior citizens is higher than that of young people, such as Japan, are already experiencing these undesirable impacts. In conclusion, even though elderly people can be beneficial in certain ways, the benefits that society may reap from them cannot match the damage it inflicts. It is important that the world governments should not underestimate the complexity of this problem and take immediate action to reduce its future influences.