The number of overweight children in developed countries is increasing. Some people think this is due to problems such as the growing number of fast food outlets. Others believe that parents are to blame for not looking after their children's health. To what extent do you agree with these views?

Over the years, the number of overweight children has increased and the situation is getting worse according to medical experts. People argue about two different reasons that have brought this dramatic condition, someone believes that being overweight is the direct consequence of the growing number of fast food outlets, by contrast, others think that parents are taking on this problem. On one hand, society has changed the habits and the culture of food. In recent years, it has grown the presence of fast foods due to the increased demand from the population. After all, junk food is cheaper than healthy food and overall it tastes good. Moreover, they are more attracted to these kinds of food due to the fact they could buy it with little money. For instance, fast food advertisements are more attractive, and their shops are located close to schools in order to have a better impact on children's needs. Finally, young people will always choose hamburgers and French fries rather than a healthy salad. On the other hand, others believe in a lack of education among offspring and in particular, the root is based on parents. Nowadays, even parents have lost the importance of eating good food in order to preserve people’s health. This trend comes from the lack of time to cook and moreover the loss of passion for cooking. Sometimes, even parents prefer to eat junk cuisine due to the fact it is cheaper than others. After all, this behaviour of not looking after the children’s health is becoming more and more common. In conclusion, I agree with both of the two views, as parents and the increase in fast food make up for the problem. Society should promote more activities in order to increase awareness of eating junk food and its consequences.