Some people think that government funding for schools should be spent on science subjects rather than on other subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The government plays an important role in supporting education, one of which is by distributing funds to schools. Some people argue that educational funds should be allocated more to science fields compared to other subjects. I completely disagree with this opinion, and further reasons will be explained in detail in this essay. First, it should be acknowledged that not all students are interested in science subjects, and this would appear highly contradictory to those who have a passion for other fields. Focusing solely on science would seem unfair and limit students ' opportunities to explore their abilities and skills. Students might feel that the government is solely supporting those with an interest in science, while those who are interested in other fields, such as the arts, would feel discriminated against. For example, my younger sibling is very interested in music, particularly singing, but there were no facilities in school to support that interest, forcing them to choose a different path that contradicts their abilities. The Indonesian government does have several facilities supporting careers in music, but in reality, this passion can only be realized by those who have the financial means. Those with limited financial resources may feel they are not entitled to pursue their dreams. On the other hand, allocating funds to science fields would stifle the potential of individuals in other areas, leading to a homogenization of skills. The high funding received by the science fields also becomes one of the indicators in the creation of job opportunities related to the field of study, forcing people to choose science out of fear of not finding employment in other fields. For instance, the Taiwanese government allocates nearly 70% of job opportunities related to semiconductors, resulting in many students choosing to study physics, mathematics, and programming. In contrast, companies outside this field, which require different skill sets, struggle to find workers with the necessary expertise. In conclusion, allocating funds appropriately will have a positive long-term impact and benefit various sectors of society.