Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student’s performance. Continual assessment such as coursework and projects is not satisfactory way to do this. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, grading systems in schools or universities have various ways, and formal also continual examinations are part of that. It is believed that the one-time exam is the only option to assess a student's performance compares to the assessment after each coursework. I completely disagree with this statement and this essay will explain why. On one hand, the level of students' stress can be increased by knowing that they only have one chance to prove themselves for their classes because the formal system allows students to do it once a semester without another possible change. Furthermore, it can decrease their capacities due to stress. For example, in Japan, an admission exam for attending bachelor's degree is held once a year, and most of the attendees mention that they cannot do their best because of this issue. On the other hand, having multiple tasks or tests in a semester not only lets a teacher know deeply about his students' performance in each skill but also grades the lessons which include several topics fairly. Moreover, by giving more chances to practice, the pupils will perform well more or less compared to the old ones. For instance, the examiners can announce that in-class will be taken place by the end of each topic. The intention to participate in the discussion by their participants will be gained and also affect their decision to not skip the class. To conclude, grading the class attendees' efficiency can be considered in numerous options which are traditional and multiple examinations respectively, hence, the latter option is more effective as it is described in this essay.