Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is true that nowadays spending most of the day on cell phones day in, day out of a significant number of children has become rife. The reasons for this vary, and from my perspective, this is a detrimental tendency. I will give my detailed explanation in the following paragraphs. To begin with, there are several motivations that lead to this bad habit. First, parents whose offspring usually glue their eyes to smartphones hours are hectic. To be specific, these days, parents have to spend all day at the workplace, and they have a limited amount of time for their offspring. Therefore, they allow their posterity to utilize mobile phones as a way to keep them indoors. For example, in Vietnam, many parents who have to work 8 to 10 hours at the office are willing to have their children freely watch YouTube videos for an ample number of hours. Second, an inordinate number of interesting things tempt youngsters on mobiles. In the past, when smartphones were uncommon, offspring usually played sports such as football and badminton at playgrounds near their houses. At the moment, the quantity of mobile apps, video games and Youtube clips is exponentially increasing which encourages posterity to spend hours on cell phones. Unfortunately, this tendency would exert negative impacts on juniors. First and foremost, spending many hours on smartphones would cause adverse effects on children’s well-being. To elaborate, the blue light from mobile screens would result in myopia while sitting leads to a sedentary lifestyle. Furthermore, not only would the sedentary lifestyle be the culprit of obesity, but also cardiovascular disease. For instance, in Vietnam, the number of myopic children dramatically grows in recent years, due to uncontrollable smartphones ’ using. In addition, juniors would have bad behaviour. Particularly, the contents on the Internet are usually unverifiable before future generations expose them. Worse still, junior citizens are able to play violent games or watch toxic videos on the Internet, and this would affect their attitude and spoil them. In short, spending an ample amount of time on smartphones of the future generations has several reasons which would be the hectic work of their parents and the temptation of mobiles. Sadly, this is a negative development and it would lead to myopia, obesity, cardiovascular disease and negative behaviour in future generations.