Some people find advertisements amusing or annoying and they are not influenced by this when they shop. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

The effect of advertisements on buyers is an issue which receives many different comments from the public. Some individuals argued that advertisements are annoying and their buying behaviour is out of the advertisement ’s influence. Personally, I believe that advertisements still play certain roles in persuading customers to buy products. It is of the opinion that advertisement is not the only factor that affects consumers when they shop. With the diversity of product ranges, there is a trend that buyers are likely to search for the product’s information carefully before making purchasing decisions. They tend to look at the positive comments from previous buyers or positive experiences from their relatives or friends. They believe that buying based on this information can help them to avoid the risks of purchasing products with low quality. On the other hand, with the boom of commercial advertisements on social platforms such as Facebook, Tik Tok…, the role of advertisement is deniable. It is no doubt that advertisement provides the very first information about a product to customers and catches their attention, helping them to make a comparison between different brands, hence, boosting them to make the purchasing decision more quickly and easier. In addition, it is reported that companies tend to allocate between 2-5% of their sales revenue to advertising. It means that advertising is still a key channel that brings products to customers. To sum up, although advertisement does not influence some people when they shop, it still plays a crucial role in the process of making buying decisions and this role should not be underestimated.