Some people think the increasing use of technology in the workplace is good for young people's prospects of gaining a job and harder for old people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As internet technology advances globally, more companies are adopting various digital techniques in workplaces to boost their productivity and performance. However, this also leads to a controversial debate around its impact on the job market. Some argue that it introduces an age threshold in the recruitment process, prioritising younger workers and disadvantaging older individuals. From my perspective, I believe that we should have a balanced mix of employees of different ages to ensure the functioning of the companies. First and foremost, empowering younger employees and reinforcing the use of technology is of great benefit. Many job roles today require proficiency in specific software and digital platforms. Younger employees are more likely to be familiar with the software, thereby giving them advantages. They can be more creative and have the skillsets to utilise technologies to innovate and create new things. This is vital for many big corporations, helping them to advance their products and invent new designs. Take Apple for example, without those young IT graduates, iPhones would not have been invented and the company would not have gained much profit as well. Therefore, it is evident that we need younger teams and technologies in the workforce. However, this is not to say that older workers are useless. In fact, they are crucial for the management of our workplaces. Although it can be more challenging and take longer time for them to use digital software at work, they have more contextual experiences than the younger generation. They can help establish leadership and be accountable as role models in the firm to guide younger workers towards the goal. Accordingly, it is undeniable that senior members have fundamental roles in the company. In summary, it is vital to maintain age diversity in the workplace, as we need people of different ages to collaborate and create greater innovation. With different perspectives joining together, it enhances problem-solving and creativity in the company, which ultimately boosts the prospective future of the institute.