Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature and history of their own country, rather than the literature and history of other countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is the case that children should be taught the literature and history of their countries first and foremost, rather than the literature and history of other countries. I totally agree with this view, and will give my reasons below. In my opinion, there are some possible reasons for teaching pupils the literature and history of their own nations. Firstly, students enjoy learning the place they live, and by studying the ideas, cultures and histories of their countries, they would develop a sense of identity. At the same time, parents also know the same historical knowledge, they therefore can help children with school work. For example, British children read Shakespeare and know about the Battle of Hastings, which their parents also know. Consequently, educational continuity across the generations. Finally, teaching historical and literature in the country may gives educators a narrow teaching scope, and making curriculum design an easier task. By contrast, studying global events and foreign novels could cause unnecessary difficult and confusion. For example, I do not see the point in presenting Russian and Chinese history to a British child who has not learnt yet the history of their own country. Surely children may understand the historical events which happen in London more than those that happen in Moscow or Beijing. Similarly, the exposure to foreign history and literature requires to learn a foreign language or translation. Young children at primary and secondary school age are simply not yet ready for such complications. In conclusion, I completely support that it is desirable for schools to cover teaching children about their country's history and literature rather than teaching them international literature and novels.