Illiteracy has traditionally been viewed as largely a third world problem. However, it is becoming apparent that in countries such as the USA and Australia, illiteracy rate is on the increase. Discuss possible causes for this and its effect on society. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Over the last few decades, illiteracy has traditionally been viewed widely in underdeveloped countries. While, it is becoming a huge concern in western countries nowadays.In this essay, I will discuss the possible causes for this issue and even its effect on society. To begin with, some of the causes that allow this problem mostly surround the lack of means such as financial problems related to education. For example, the lack of family supports and awareness some children cannot pay higher tuition fees,especially the poor ones. In addition, some employed individuals around the world who cannot find work because of a lack of employment or only because they cannot afford to pursue their higher education may have been involved in crime and other illegal issues. Thus, due to financial problems and the poverty that are facing worldwide these days. Furthermore, as an effect of it, the government and other cooperation have to implement some measures and provide funds and facilities to the nations to support each social class steadily and also the social barriers can lead to illiteracy. For example, restrictions on girls' education in some societies, instead some of them can be forced by their parents into early marriage.As result, the higher level of poverty can provoke social crimes and many other negative effects. In conclusion, the value of education cannot be underestimated.I believe that some authorities should apply measures like lower educational costs and offering grants in underdeveloped countries to reduce illiteracy in western countries and all over the globe.