Some people believe that secondary school children should study international news as a subject. Others say that this is wasting time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is debatable whether international news should be seen as a mandatory section in the secondary school curriculum or not. From my perspective, both opinions are reasonable to a certain extent, but I am still in favour of the former, and I will give my detailed explanation in the following paragraphs. It must be acknowledged that the opponents of this view have their reasons. First of all, secondary students lack the background knowledge to thoroughly understand international news. To be specific, politics and economics events need university-level insights to be correctly analysed and comprehended, which students have yet to do. Even worse, learners may become a victim of false information, which can incite them against the government. Secondly, pupils should be able to prefer subjects that they enjoy or are gifted with, rather than being forced. To be specific, not every student wants to become a politician and tackle social problems, so this news is of no value to them. In fact, a Math lesson may bring as much educational value to students as America’s election. However, the above views are completely inferior to the good sides of the view in question. First of all, international insights might affect students ' study abroad opportunities. To be specific, the changes in the diplomatic methods of countries can prevent international pupils from receiving visa insurance and its specific benefits. In fact, Vietnamese undergraduates are concerned that the EU rejects the new Vietnamese visa because of a lack of necessary information. Secondly, international news is also a way which helps pupils in Vietnam to socialise with friends abroad. Friendships, in particular, always come from stories, and individuals gain understanding when discussing a topic. As a result, international events in politics, entertainment, or any other fields, would allow learners to establish relationships with foreigners. In conclusion, it is undebatable that it is difficult for secondary students to acquire international knowledge and they should be able to learn lessons they enjoy. However, I reckon that secondary school children should study international news as a subject because foreign news can affect their study abroad opportunities and relationships abroad.