Nowadays not many young people choose to work in the farming industry. Why do you think that is? How could young people be encouraged to work in this industry?

Farming is one of the oldest occupation since the inception of the human race and is bound to remain relevant as it provides one of the basic needs of man which is food. However, in recent times, it has been observed that younger generation prefer not to work in agricultural industries and this may be explained by some factors which I will be outlining in this essay as well as possible solutions that will increase their interest in agriculture. Firstly, most part of farming is physically tasking and this discourages young individuals from participating in it. The present day youths tend to prefer activities which are less strenous and require less physical manpower and so because of this, they are likely to not get involved in farming as it is still manually operated in some parts of the world. For example, there are more young people with technology oriented jobs than in agriculture and this is as a result of the aforementioned reason. Furthermore, the financial rewards that accrue from agriculture are a bit fewer than what is obtained from other occupations. With the global shift towards science and technology, employments in these fields are more lucrative and therefore will attract more young people. An example can be seen among college students who choose to study courses that are more lucrative than farming. Although these reasons exist, some approach may help solve this problem. One of them will be increase in public awareness of the importance and benefits of farming. Also adding incentives to the agricultural sector may lure younger individuals into the industry. Incentives such as better pay and mechanised farming. In conclusion, farming is essential for the survival of the society and should be revolutionised to attract younger people into the industry. This can be attained by adjusting the financial rewards and method of farming.