Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The environment is always a hot topic to discuss. It is argued that only governments and business tycoons have the ability to improve the environment, while individuals can not do anything. In my opinion, I partly disagree with the statement as individuals can contribute much effort to protect the environment. It is a fact that each person can only make a small contribution to protect nature, but individuals who live in the same place could make significant changes. The contribution of the whole community is the sum of each person, which can be a game-changer factor. For instance, people can save water by turning off the faucets when not using them, or by switching off devices to save electricity or cleaning up the public place together. Furthermore, people can raise awareness of the community by launching campaigns about the environment. However, the role of governments and companies still can not be negated. Regarding contributions of the big organisations, governments and large companies solve the problem on a large scale. They can have protection laws for the environment, or strict regulations in recycling procedures in manufacture, which are obeyed by the whole community. The governments and big business tycoons can have full use of their powers to shield the environment. Thus, although governments and large companies can make huge differences, the contributions of individuals are not negated. In conclusion, I believe that both individuals and large organisations can make big changes to improve the environment. Moreover, they should cooperate in order to protect the environment in the best way.