Some people suggest that a country should try to produce all the food for its population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been argued by a few individuals that a nation ought to manufacture all the food products as much as possible for its citizens rather than sourcing them from a foreign country. I tend to agree with this view. I am of the opinion that a nation should produce maximum eatables in-house. Ideas articulated further in this discourse will support my stand and at the same time will highlight the contradictory views that others in society might possibly have. The primary reason for my belief is the dependency on a foreign country. It is evident that an importing country has to suffer a lot for its food products if it comes across any trade war with an exporting country. For instance, in 2019, China’s citizens suffered a lot for not getting soybeans since they were in an embargo with the USA. Another reason to uphold my view is the value of the currency. It is undeniably true that if a nation exports more to the world its currency fluctuates more in the market. This increase in the fluctuation of money makes the currency of an exporting country much more powerful. For example, as per the World Trade Report, the US dollar to date is considered to be the most powerful currency due to surplus exports than imports. On the other hand, there are individuals who are of the outlook that all eatables should not be produced in the home country. The focal reason for this belief is the increase in deforestation. It is an irrefutable fact that to grow every type of food product the government has to amass land. This will leave no choice for them to cut trees to produce all eatables for its citizens. To conclude, there surely are those who are convinced by the fact that all food products should not be grown in one’s country, and they assumingly have all the right reasons to back their conviction. I, however, am of the firm opinion that all the eatables should be manufactured in the home country because it will not only kill the dependency on exporting country for the required food product for its population, but it will also help to keep the currency in power.