Some people believe that the only purpose of film is to entertain. Others say that films should always have some educational value. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, the number of people who are watching films has increased drastically. Cinemas come with many subjects varying from horror to comedy. There is an argument that cinemas should always teach something whereas a few say that it is only to entertain. In my opinion, they should be both entertaining and educational. This essay will discuss both views and provide valid opinions to support these views. The view which says these are meant to only entertain is valid. Initially, these were made for entertainment purposes only. In recent times the genre of cinema also has changed. Yet most of the these that come out today are entertaining. For example, more than half of these that are released in the past two decades are comedy movies. People go to such movies to take a break and to relax. On other hand, the view that says these should contain some educational value is also valid. More than half of the people who watch pictures are children. For instance, if a child is watching a film they should learn something. The films they watch should have some impact on them in a positive way. pictures have a huge impact on the audience. In this case, if pictures provide a way to influence the watchers in a positive way then, we can see a great change in society. To conclude, theatres should maintain a balance in both entertainment and what they convey. The films that are meant for the younger generation should have elements of science or social justice as watchers can get influenced by them and behave accordingly. However, they should also be entertaining at the same time because it is a very good source of relaxation.