Some people think that animals and animal products should be used for food, medicine and clothing. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your opinions based on your knowledge and experiences.

According to some points of view, products from animals or animals themselves can be utilized in various sectors such as medicine, food or clothing. I personally agree that animal products should be used for the welfare of the public, however, they should be properly tested and verified before implementation. To begin with, there is no doubt that animal products can be utilized at a broader scale to serve several human needs. Animals and animal products have great demand in various fields namely clothing, food and medicine. A large number of people in the world depends on animal for food or medicine and animal skin for clothing. For example, people get protein from the meat of the animal and the blood, fat or other extracts from animals can be used to produce and manufacture medicine for diseases. Moreover, animal skin can be utilized for clothing and shoes. A recent study from Yale University demonstrates that, about 90 per cent of raw materials from the fashion and clothing industry are supplied by animals. Therefore, we cannot deny the contribution of animal products to our survival. On the contrary, animal rights activists believe that animal products should not be used for human survival because animals are living being and they have equal rights to survive in this world just like humans. Furthermore, the point from the environmentalists is, if animal lives are destroyed to the largest extent the environment and ecosystem would be threatened for a long time. To add to it, as human life and environmental well-being are coexists, that would definitely affect human existence. For example, a large number of animal killings can lead to an enormous impact on the environment. Thus, some animal welfare organizations are working against excessive animal killing. To conclude, animals are our true friends and for our,survival we are depending on them. Without,them we cannot even imagine our existence.