With the development of modern society is the loss of traditional ways of life. Is it important to keep our traditional ways of life ? How can this be achieved

In contemporary occidental society, doesn’t need to look the political forces to detect two main groups bearing drastically opposed values. This is particulary true in the world. Where one group, often Republicans, apperas more conservative than the other one, composed mostly of Democrats. This distribution of political forces emphasizes a central political question is progress neccesarily a threat. In other words is it vital to prevent the evolution of our In contemporary occidental society, one doesn’t need to look the political forces scrupulously to detect two main groups bearing drastically opposed values. This is particularly true in the USA, where one group, often Republicans, appears more conservative than the other one, composed mostly of Democrats. This distribution of political forces emphasizes a central political question: is progress necessarily a threat? In other words is it vital to prevent the evolution of our lifestyle, or to come back to our former way of life? One can argue that traditional way of life is vital to society. Indeed, modern lifestyle, in occidental society, induced a lot of issues, such as global warning, or the rise of inequalities. In other words, even though we were poorer in the past, society wasn’t threatened by its own organization. Moreover, existence wasn’t difficult, as it wasn’t based much on the accumulation of capital and social comparisons between individuals. Nevertheless, we support the thesis that modern societies, even if they present issues, are desirable for mankind. Indeed, the XIX and XX century, that created a cleaving with the rest of history, have testified of the rise of civil rights and social gains, such as abortion, equal rights, democracy. Those rights ensure protection and safety for everyone, which wasn’t the case in the past. In a more pragmatic perspective, it seems impossible to give up our gains and assets in order to come back to an organization of society gone in the records. To conclude, even if many things would be easier if we lived in a traditional society, progress, which seems inevitable, ensure respect of mankind. However, we can highlight the fact that mankind needs to be careful about progress: progress isn’t necessary a perfect thing, and it needs to be dealt with carefully, especially in the field of science and technology