Some people believe that exams are an inappropriate way of measuring student’s performance and should be replaced by continuous assessments. Do you agree or disagree with this view?

Participating in examinations is one of the methods in order to assess what level of academic achievement a student has reached. However, some people argue that it has been ineffective and should be replaced by daily assessments. In my view, I agree with this statement because an examination is insufficient to include all the contents which students have learned and it cannot reveal the real educational state of students All the knowledge that we have been taught in school cannot be evaluated with a single examination. Students have learned a vast amount of knowledge over 10 years of studying including primary and secondary school life. An examination can only take some parts of this subject testing how students understand well in this field. However, because we do not realize what will be tested, all the content will be memorized. It is time-consuming and not cost-effective. Therefore, a student's entire academic performance cannot be captured by a single exam. Unlike examination, continuous assessment is the way to score a student on their daily homework and performance in lessons. Daily assessments not only cover the entire period of study, but also provide a fair evaluation of every student. Examinations put huge pressure on students so their performance on tests can be affected. However, students will not be stressed in daily evaluations because it happens in their normal school life. If they want to achieve a higher score, they just need to gradually improve. Even if they fail one assignment, it will not be fatal in their final score. In conclusion, examinations are inadequate for showing students ' full range of strengths and abilities. Daily assessments are the better method for evaluating students performance.