Agree or disagree with the following statement:Pets should be treated like family members. Give reasons and examples to support your opinion.

In this fast-paced world, people try to escape from the pressure and distress of this world by adopting pets. Nowadays, every household has these living things mainly because they provide extra security and comfort. Therefore, it is very important to consider whether these pets should be treated as family members or not. Without a doubt, I agree with the statement and believe that these living creatures must be adored and loved just like how a mother cares for her child. I strongly feel this way for two reasons, which I shall delve into in the following essay. To begin with, one of the reasons why pets should be considered family members is that they form a source of comfort. Even though they cannot speak, these beings recognize when a person is feeling low and down. When a person wants to unwind and detach from his/her work, pets are always a source of relief. That is why hospitals and other therapy clinics adopt this setup. For example, having a dog beside a recovering patient motivates not only the patient but at the same time encourages the dog to fascinate more and more. Thus, it's a win-win situation altogether. Moreover, although these pets cannot talk, they are very smart and intellectual. Having a pet as a family member brings out a myriad of benefits,especially the ability to recognize faces, voice commands, and even scents. For example, German shepherd breeds are currently being used as military dogs because of their high IQ level. Furthermore, pets are able to detect even the slightest movements happening outside. They are loyal to their masters and show love and comfort even during the most adverse situations. Thus, these reasons manifest the fact that pets are an important source in a family. Admittedly, some may hold the opinion that having them treated as one of the family members is insanity and believe that pets serve only one purpose and that is to safeguard their property and home. But I recognize that, they are more than that. To sum up, based on my expositions mentioned above, I hold the opinion that having a pet will definitely boost our sense of respect and kindness towards one another, just as how these pets illustrate towards us.