For all children, the ability to play a musical instrument is just as important as the ability to read and write. How far do you agree with this suggestion? How important is it for a child to learn to play a musical instrument, in your view?

Experts believe that the child's ability to play a musical instruments is an important skill for his development. Some even go as far as comparing its importance to writing and reading. This essay will explore my view regarding this notion. In addition, I will explain why I consider teaching a child to play a musical instrument a waste of time. Teaching a child to play a musical instrument is not as important as teaching him reading or writing for multiple reasons. Reading and writing are important skills that a child can benefit from during his whole life. While some consider art and music to be vital skills these days, their benefit for a child's development does not even come close to reading. If a child knows how to read well, he can open for himself an ocean of knowledge in many fields of science and literature. The ability to play a musical instrument is vastly overrated for many purposes. It encourages the child to waste time playing and listening to music instead of gaining other more important skills. Playing a musical instrument as a skill is not helping the child in his daily life activities. Even when the child grows, this skill can only benefit him if he plays in a band. Many students who graduated with a degree in arts and music are still seeking jobs. Some had to abandon their dreams and worked in low-level jobs just to survive. In conclusion, Ther ability to read and write is clearly superior to the ability to play music for children. In my opinion, it is not important to spend any time trying to teach a child how to play a musical instrument.