Because of the global economy, many goods including what we use as everyday basics produced by other countries have to be transported for a long distance. TO what extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the present world, nations` are interacting economically, by trading numerous products which are consumed on a daily basis and have to be delivered to distant locations. I believe that the advantages of the statement are eclipsed by the disadvantages. A multitude of merits could be cited, one of which would be that the demand for precious products is fulfilled. people can taste several delicious fruits and vegetables originating from various districts worldwide. Not only are these tasty, but some of them are healthy. Pineapple is a case in point. Although it is grown in tropical regions, it can be largely seen in dry climates like Iran. If it weren`t for the long transportation and global trade, it would have been a dream for the Iranian people. Therefore, the supply chain should be obtained regardless of the distances. However, many downsides can be mentioned. An underlying one would be that the process of transporting goods to different destinations is detrimental to the ecosystem. As vehicles burn a considerable amount of fossil fuels to carry the load and deliver it, consequently, a huge yield of carbon dioxide is emitted into the air, having devastating impacts on the environment. Trucks and aeroplanes which are the main means of delivery service and contribute to the majority of carbon emissions annually are a bright example. Hence, we are trading at our peril. To conclude, while exporting and importing over a long distance can be a double-edged sword, I believe that the merits are overshadowed by the demerits.