It is quite right that top sports people should be paid a lot of money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that these days high-level athletes are paid high salaries. The question is, is it justifiable to pay them these amounts? In this essay, I am going to discuss my view and draw my personal conclusion. In terms of advantages, paying top sportsmen a lot of money will encourage them to better perform. The main reason given to support this claim is that everyone will try hard to become a high-level athlete. To illustrate, Ronaldo and Messi are considered one of the most-paid individuals in the world. In other words, paying high-level athletes good amounts will increase their level in their sport and make other people eager to take their place. Many recent reports linked sports and physical activity to better health and lower levels of cardiovascular diseases. For that reason, encouraging people to participate in sports is beneficial. However, paying top sports people a huge amount has its downsides. Firstly, it will discourage people who choose to pursue careers in other fields. In other words, doctors and engineers usually work and study harder than athletes and get paid even less. Secondly, the money spent on them could be spent on other more important things. While sport is important, healthcare and education are considered vastly more important needs. This is because healthcare and education are vital aspects of modern society while sport is considered a luxury. In conclusion, although paying top athletes is beneficial, it has many negatives. Therefore, I believe that spending large amounts of money on athletes is unnecessary and wasteful.