Many manufactured food and drinks products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugar products shold be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar

In recent decades, the high demand for sugary products have been a common issue in most nations. Whether higher price tags on the products can reduce the number of health problems has been hotly debated among people. I agree that the sugar tax will effectively decrease expenditure on such products temporarily, but not persistently. This essay will discuss this issue by using examples to support ideas and demonstrate points. On the one hand, the higher the price is allocated to the products, the fewer people will be attracted to buy such merchandise. In addition, individuals would look for alternatives, such as hand-squeezed fruit juice or water, which are cheaper than sugary products. For example, as the government in South Korea put the sugar tax on products, the number of citizens having obesity or diabetes has significantly decreased due to lower demands for a short period. Thus, it can positively affect individuals’ choices for a while; however, it is unsure for long-term purposes. On the other hand, some people suggest that since having sweet food is individuals’ free will, governments should leave it as a freedom of choice. Furthermore, a sugar supply chain is already secured for manufactured merchandise, therefore, it can not be guaranteed to reduce demands persistently. For instance, since many factories already have a set amount of sugar to produce their own products, the usage of sugar for companies to draw out profits will not be affected by the higher price. Consequently, governments should consider prudently, which option can encourage people to consume less sugar persistently. In conclusion, the sugar tax can be a temporary option to solve individuals’ health problems by decreasing demands shortly, but it is suspicious for long-term purposes because of fixed supply chains and free will.