every year several languages die out.somepeople think that is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. to what extent do you agree or disagree whith this notion?

We are presently living in the twenty-first century which is acknowledged as an era of advancement. During the process of progress, human beings are often observed eliminating multiple features from their life which includes languages also. A group of people opine that the presence of multiple languages is creating hindrances, hence obsoleting a few of them will make life easier. I contradict this view. First of all the way of erasing languages will have a vastly negative effect on communication with the community that still adores it, particularly with people of old age. This may often restrict the knowledge that they intend to impart to the following generations. Moreover, people belonging to the less fortunate strata of society who do not have an access to institutions teaching foreign languages may slowly find themselves less relevant to society. For example, in my native village located in the state of West Bengal many tribal groups have their own language which is not scripted yet. I had once heard one of the senior people of that tribe mention in a community meeting that his grandchildren are refusing to learn their language as it is of no use outside their village. He showed his fear that this language may become extinct after a couple of more decades. He was concerned that this may result in people born half a century later being total strangers to their way of expression. Another reason why we should adhere to these languages is that their absence may make us incapable to understand the cultures of these civilisations. For,example archaeologists have discovered engravings on the walls of buildings in excavated sites of the Indus Valley civilisation. However, they are unable to gather any information as no one is present who can understand these languages. Inventions and discoveries made by them are lost due to the absence of linguistic experts. To conclude, I believe the preservation of languages is paramount and Governments should make efforts to ensure that these languages are scripted along with translations. Passing down history to future generations is as important as teaching them how to use a computer.