Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today's society, instead of working for a company or organisation, more and more people expect to work in a self-employed way. This situation probably happens as a result of people's need of independence in their jobs. Some people give up working for a large company as they want more free time under their control. Commuting is oftentimes a time -consuming process, which normally drives people crazy, especially when they get stuck in traffic congestion. In addition, some people intend to regulate their pace of work independently. Working in an organisation, they are normally required to start and end their daily work on time, and more likely to work overtime when some urgent work comes. It makes them feel tired especially when the work time is not compatible with their private schedules. However, self-employed is an effective way to cope with this problem. Although self-employed allow people to regulate their pace of life, but it has some adverse impacts on them in the meantime. Firstly, they usually work at home or in a library, where their attention is more prone to be diverted from their businesses than doing things in a formal office, resulting in low-efficient work. Moreover, lack of communication and cooperation with colleages is another problem, which is not beneficial for them to participate in large-scale and chanllenging projects and improve their working and management skills. In conclusion, individuals want to be self-employed to strike a balance between work and life, and have more time they can arrange. It is a common phonomenon in our society though it indeed has some drawbacks.