Many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first punishment.  Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

It is often said that a range of criminals carry out more crimes after they are released from rehabilitation facilities. This essay will highlight the reason why crime offenders recommit illegal activities as well as mention the best solution for this problem. To begin with, it is evident that people who have criminal records are highly unlikely to get a job than those who don't. This is mainly because business owners are reluctant to hire criminals since they are considered violent and risky. Therefore, this leads to a long-term unemployment state, which enables offenders to recommit another crime for making one's living. Taking drug dealers as an example, after they finished their sentence in jail, they are highly likely to rejoin their drug organization to earn money. Thus, offering vocational courses while they spend their time in prison plays a crucial role in order to make them start a new life apart from committing crimes. Besides, taking a job-related course helps prisoners to have a sense of belonging as a member of society by completing given tasks related to helping others. For example, the government can provide courses such as learning carpentry works, using sewing machines and fixing digital devices. Research showed that those who took job training not only adapted well to society, but also got employed in the first three months after their serving. In conclusion, criminals tend to recommit a crime because they hardly get job opportunities. However, this can be solved by giving a suitable job-related education in the prison.