In many large cities, pelople waste hours of their time every day because of traffic congestion_on the roads. What are the causes of this? What solutions can yoj suggest?

It is well-known traffic jams are big time wasters in very populated cities. The main reason for this is the constant usage of personal vehicles. However, some cities are starting to promote more public transportation policies in order to attract a bigger sector of the population. The use of personal transport such as cars or motorbikes brings to the big cities a huge amount of movement that usually can not be handled by the limited space of the roads. On one hand, the decision of using your own vehicle supports the idea of a more comfortable daily commute. Nevertheless, this decision runs in the decrement of the environment and the normal flow of traffic. The city of Madrid issued a study about the relation between the air quality and the number of workers arriving late to work. The result proved that there was an increment in air toxicity when there were more delayed workers. Basically, the use of public transport is the answer to this problem. Time wise usually reliable, an overcrowded transport system could not be very attractive for a majority of citizens. This means the investment in new infrastructure from the government side is crucial for the success of this kind of measure. The city of Murcia saw a decrease in the use of cars after the opening of its new Metro. In conclusion, while the use of private transport causes trouble in the daily movement of the population, the governments have in their hands the possibility of improving this matter by investing in new services for the use of the population.