Many people use written language in a less formal way and in a relaxed way than in the past. Why is that so? Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages?

Many people use written language in a less formal way and in a relaxed way than in the past. Why is that so? Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages? It is quite common these days that the growing use a less formal writing language. This essay will discuss several reasons caused this trend and the drawbacks related to this. There is a variety of different causes of this matter. A common reason is that many people prefer to use spoken communication. Individuals can feel more convenient and faster when they create face-to-face conversations. As a result, this kind of language will reduce the frequency of use of formal language because they think they just need to use informal language in daily dialogues. Another factor no less important is the development of applications such as emojis, abbreviated words, or even video calls in modern life. The internet and modern devices reduce formal language due to many online and texting languages that frequently use these days. For example, as reported by VN Express in 2022, there were about 54 idioms that were created by Vietnam youngsters over 6 months. The serious consequence is that they increasingly restrict their use of formal language and tend to use more and more abbreviated words. There are numerous disadvantages to the tendency to use these informal words. To begin with, this might harm student learning performances. This is because in essays and tasks that need a higher level of formality, many students today use informal forms such as shortened vocabulary or slang. Utilising informal terms confuses the lecturer and may discourage them from taking the writer's message seriously. Another contributing factor to mention is the lack of professionalism in a work context. A particularly good example here is when you communicate informally with colleagues or bosses, they will feel that you don't value them, which will increase communication between you and them. This negatively affects the quality of work. In conclusion, there are many causes for the problem of using written language informally. As a result, they create many negative effects on aspects such as student achievement and unprofessional behavior in the work environment.