In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

In this contemporary era, people are shifting to shop from shopping malls or centres due to which local shops are shutting down. In my opinion, this is a negative development. In this essay, we will elucidate the reasons with relevant examples in detail in the forthcoming paragraphs. To commence, individuals choose to shop from shopping malls or centres as they get a variety of brands to choose from and get good quality products due to which the sales of local shops are declining. In addition, these low sales negatively affect the local economy, which is suffering losses that makes their survival difficult in the market. Moreover, malls have various methods to promote their stores and also give high discounts to retain customers for a longer period. For example, shopping centres offer a "buy 1, get 1" scheme where they get 2 items at the price of 1. Thus, the above example vividly illustrates how small shops are not able to sustain. Additionally, a change of lifestyle has also been observed in society which influences people to shift their perspective. To elaborate, individuals are becoming more materialistic and are adopting western cultures due to which they shop according to the latest trends. Moreover, big companies offer online services which seem convenient to people as they can refund or exchange their purchases which is not available in local stores. To exemplify, the public in India has started to dress like the western countries due to new fashion styles that are coming into existence. Hence, the aforementioned reason substantiates the growing popularity of malls. To conclude, the public prefers to purchase from big malls as they get ample options to select from and high-quality items which puts a negative impact on the domestic economy. Secondly, lifestyle changes and modern thinking have influenced individuals to follow western cultures due to which the traditional way of living is taking a back seat.