More and more people want to buy clothes, cars and other products from well-known brands. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Recently, the new trend in purchasing products shows that more and more people prefer products from famous brands. This essay will explain a particular reason behind this trend. I believe that this is not positive buying behaviour. To begin with, the main reason for this trend is the wish to personally show off. Obviously, each person in society has different needs based on their situation and background. Psychologists reveal that when basic needs such as enough food or clothes are met, individuals will think about the higher demand which is self-esteem. In this stage, they tend to choose goods from well-known trademarks which are embedded in luxury, high quality, high price and even unique. Moreover, famous items can be used as a measurement to compare the success and rich of individuals. As a result, more and more people choose items from well-known brands to show their social status toward others. In my opinion, purchasing products from well-known brands hinders the development of small unknown enterprises, then causing negative effects on the local economy. Obviously, when well-known products take over the market, unknown or average brands will face numerous difficulties in approaching customers regardless of the cheaper price or good quality. Obstacles in selling products to customers lead to a high level of inventory. As a consequence, enterprises do not have enough necessary resources to maintain production and operation, thus, closing the business is an inevitable result. In conclusion, individuals are likely to consume products with famous brand names to show their high social status. I believe that this consuming tendency may have drawbacks in the long run.