Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent decades, due to globalisation, acquiring a second language and migrating to another country has become a trend among people. Although people suggest that practical and social problems have arisen because of this trend I partly agree with this view because benefits and drawbacks exist with the trend. This essay will discuss this issue by using examples to support ideas and demonstrate points. One the one hand, a lack of understanding foreigners who are unable to speak in another language fluently can draw out racisms, leading them to having social isolation. In addition, global problems between nations can result in tensions in different races. For instance, during Covid-19 outbreak, Chinese, dwelling in other countries, used to be socially condemned by inhabitants of the specific nations sometimes including violence. Thus, it is truth that global and individuals problems can be caused by living in a place where being bilingual is required. On the other hand, some people argue that going overseas should be encouraged to acquire opportunities of employment. Furthermore, it is significantly vital for individuals to attain a wider vision of multicultural aspects through different types of nationality people. For example, because of excessive competitions in South Korea, many people tend to go abroad to find a job and becoming bilingual helps them to secure sustainable employment. Therefore, people can benefit from speaking in another language. In conclusion, even though the trend brings some social and practical issues, it undoubtedly has benefits, which individuals can gain by going overseas.