Many people are afraid to leave their homes because of their fear of crime. Some people believe that more actions should be taken to prevent crimes, but others feel that little can be done. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is a fact that many people are afraid of leaving their homes due to their fear of crimes. While some people believe more actions should be taken to reduce the crime rate, just as many people are convinced that nothing can be done. In this essay, I will look into both points of view before presenting my own opinion and drawing a conclusion. On the one hand, it is understandable for some people to be pessimistic that no measures can make crimes disappear. Firstly, the fact that there are still criminals and violent actions in today’s world can be of evidence. Sociologically, there cannot be an ideal society without crime. Because crimes are born out of the differences amongst individuals where some people choose the quickest and easiest way they can think of to put a stop to the pain caused by said differences. For example, the gap between the rich and the poor has always existed, which causes a majority of poor people to feel inadequate to their richer peers; and as a result, many people choose to the easy way to end their poverty, which is stealing from the people who have what they lack, instead of putting more effort into making more money. Furthermore, some people are addicted to committing crimes despite the knowledge of the consequences they bring. Take drug dealers and drug traffickers as an example, they know very well the death sentence they will face, yet they keep choosing the go down that criminal path, and even find better ways to do so without being caught, because drug trafficking brings significantly more income than a nine-to-five job. Thus, people who are convinced from the negative news they see that they might end up being robbed or murdered one day are not without reasons. On the other hand, some people choose to remain positive that more taken actions can actually help them feel safer. It is true as well when we consider the growth of our society, thanks to the role of education. In the past, when there was not any rule, we used to be on high alert that someone might steal our food and we would end up starving. But then we created the law and educated each other to respect others’ possession. As a result, the more educated we become, the better society develops, and the safer the citizens feel. Moreover, along with moral and legal education, self-defense is another essential topic that the authorities can provide their citizens with. While general education helps everyone to learn to become a better person, self-defense helps each of the individuals in that community to protect themselves from the wrongdoings of others. It is true that our society has become safer than it was in the past, but we cannot rely on each other’s mercy and good intentions to survive. Therefore, self-defense is one way we can be responsible for our own safety. In my opinion, I am in support of the statement in which actions should be taken to prevent crimes. Despite the pessimism surrounding us perpetually, we must take the matter into our own hands and ensure our own security. Because if we are idle in this matter, more crimes will occur and society will become a terrible place to live. In conclusion, both viewpoints have their own reasons. However, I support taking more actions, especially investing in moral and self-defense education, in spite of the crimes that drag down our morale.