Some people think the government should take measures regarding the healthy lifestyles of individuals. Others think it must be managed by individuals. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In contemporary times a lot of importance is given to the healthy lifestyle of an individual. Some people believe that it is the responsibility of the government to take appropriate measures in order to improve the lifestyles of people. Whereas others feel that it is the accountability of every individual to look after health. I believe that it is a joint responsibility of both and this essay will elucidate my assertion in the forthcoming paragraphs. It is the responsibility of the authorities to create awareness and take appropriate measures for the welfare of society. Additionally, they must apply restrictions on harmful consumables for the betterment of people. For example, the regulatory bodies should conduct awareness campaigns about the implications of unhealthy living and promote ways of a healthy being. This will ensure that individuals are well-informed and take conscious efforts to lead a nutritious life. However, people need to take initiatives for themselves like exercising, practising meditation and having a balanced diet in order to improve and maintain their health. How much ever the government takes on initiatives, it will not make an actual difference until and unless the person decides to do it. For instance, we often see alcohol and cigarette advertisements displaying warnings like “Smoking causes cancer”, “Alcohol is injurious to health”, etc. In spite of that, many individuals continue to drink and smoke on a daily basis. Thus, the sole accountability for one's well-being ultimately lies with the person himself. Hence, it is not only the responsibility of the regulatory bodies but also people who must work towards a nutritious living. A collaboration of both will ensure a well-informed and nutritious society.