Over the last few decades, the media has promoted the image of young thin women as being ideal. What problems has this caused? What solutions can you suggest to this issue?

In modern society, the mass media is immensely promoting the image of lean females as being perfect and idealistic. This incurs some very negative drawbacks on the women in the society. This essay will highlight some possible causes and solutions to this problem. Firstly, the primary disadvantage is that it leads to a high prevalence of body image concerns among young females. These promotions leave obese women with no other option but to go on a weight-loss diet, consequently causing detrimental health effects. For example, with regard to this topic, an article published by a dietitian cited that most ladies are diagnosed with anorexia nervosa due to these kinds of unrealistic portrayals by the media. Moreover, excessive dieting and starvation become the reason for many diseases, such as bulimia, binge eating disorder, and night eating syndrome. However, in order to overcome this challenge, one of the potential strategies includes providing nutrition education to all the ladies in the community. For instance, numerous campaigns and seminars should be conducted, focusing on the myths related to a slender body and fitness. Furthermore, along with clearing everyone’s misconceptions related to a slim body and good health, individuals should be taught about the significance of maintaining an ideal body weight. Complementing this approach, counselling sessions must also be offered to those struggling with body image issues. To sum up, publicizing such trends should be banned, and adopting effective preventive measures will surely have a profound impact and yield positive results with the passage of time.