Some people say that art subjects such as painting or drawing should not be made compulsory for high school students. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some are of opinion that students at high schools might not be compulsorily obliged to attend artistic programs, such as painting or drawing. From my perspective, I totally concur with this statement owing to the following demonstrations. To commence with, it might bring some negative endorsement to pupils who have no talent in drawing or painting if artistic themes are compulsorily added to the curriculum. It can be plainly seen that high school teenagers should pay attention to their major themes to achieve excellent scores in the entrance exams of universities or colleges. When teenagers are forced to learn subjects related to artwork, it might be a waste of their time, alongside the pressure of attaining enough scores to pass these subjects. In case of getting unexpected marks for artistic exams, the average academic performance of young adults will be possibly lowered. On the other hand, there is a common impression that artistic courses would rather be optional than compulsory. Those who are especially interested in art-related lessons possibly register and attend the courses to pursue their passion for arts. The knowledge they have gained in these classes plays a pivotal role in forming a primary foundation for arts. In addition, individuals who join art classes are given exercises to practice and improve their skills in drawing or painting without paying fees for extra artwork courses. For example, some young adults who planned to apply to an art university generally devote their time to studying drawing or painting since being high school teenagers. In conclusion, despite that art classes enable talented young adults to boost their abilities in arts, other students have been taking disadvantage of their presence. Therefore, I personally believe that pupils at high schools should be optionally involved in artwork subjects.